Print this Page


Final Points Standings 


What a pleasure to present this beautiful trophy and $10,000.00 in Elite Series entry fees for the 2017 tournament season to Deland angler and Bossman Boats / Yamaha Outboards pro, Mark Sepe. Mark is the first ever winner of the Manny Perez Memorial Cup trophy and the 2016 Elite Series Angler of the Year.
Doing what no angler has been able to do since the Elite Redfish Series began it’s head to head, one angler per boat competitions in 2014, Mark Sepe unseated reigning Angler of the Year for 2014 and 2015, Paul Dufrene.
Mark finished atop the field of great anglers to win his first Angler of the Year Championship on The Elite Redfish Series trail and did so by a commanding 10 point spread.
“It’s all about being consistent and this year, Mark was the most consistent angler on the tour”, stated Dufrene.
The bad news for Paul and the other anglers of the 2017 Elite Redfish Series is, Mark isn’t finished or satisfied. Sepe will be back in both the East and West divisions of the 2017 Elite Redfish Series and will be looking to go back to back himself.
Other notable achievements were first time to the Elite Redfish Series, Freddy Frederick took home Rookie of the Year honors and long time Elite pro, David Christian landed in 3rd in the points race.
Paul Dufrene ended up in 4th while Mississippi pro Bo Favre captured his first top 5 Angler of the Year finish.
It was a hard fought battle in 2016 with tour stops spanning the Gulf Coast from South Texas’ Mustang Island all the way around the bend to South Florida’s Sarasota/Bradenton area.
Each of these pros competed in excellent fashion and did themselves, their families, friends and sponsors proud. 2017 is going to be another challenge for these pros of the Elite Redfish Series, but we know, each of them will be up to it…



Permanent link to this article: